top of page

Healthy Banana Bread - Vegan Friendly

Today I share with you my favourite dessert recipe to date. This is a little recipe I came up with on my own as I am always striving for delicious, tasty and healthy snacks. Best part is I managed to make it vegan too! Another reason why this recipe is just so great within my family is that my sister recently was diagnosed with being intolerant towards milk, egg and wheat. I wanted to be able to show her that this wasn’t going to stand in her way of eating treats. This instantly became a family favourite so much so I have to hide my very own private stash (just don’t rat me out).

Don’t have bananas going black in your fruit bowl? Don’t want to wait a few days to try out this recipe? No problem! All you need to do is follow this quick easy process in order to fulfil your craving of banana bread.

  1. Set your oven for 150’c.

  2. Place your unpeeled bananas on a baking tray (tip: bananas can sometimes leak so to avoid making a mess line you baking tray).

  3. Bake your medium sized bananas in the oven and cook for 15-30 minutes. Once your banana peel is black and shiny take them out of the oven.

  4. Leave to cool for 30 minutes.

Great! Now you have your bananas ripened and ready to go let’s have a look and the ingredients and method.

Ingredients:

  • No egg – egg replacer (use amount equal to two eggs) or if not a vegan feel free to use two medium eggs.

  • 105g of melted coconut oil

  • 100g of agave

  • 120ml unsweetened almond milk

  • 3 medium bananas (ripe)

  • 100g blueberries

  • 150g of strong brown flour

  • 1 tsp of baking soda

  • ½ tsp of salt

When cut into 12: Calories: 183.4 | Carbs: 22.7g | Fat: 9.2g | Protein: 2.1g

Method:

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 180’c

  2. Place Into the blender bananas, coconut oil, unsweetened almond milk and the egg replacer. Mix until smooth and lump free. (if bananas are not ripe please see top of the page where I explain how to ripen them within 30 minutes)

  3. In a bowl mix together the brown flour, baking soda, salt and agave. Then slowly pour in our banana mixture and stir well.

  4. Gently fold through our blueberries.

  5. Pour mixture into a greased tin, and place into the oven for 30 -55 minutes depending on tin.

  6. Once cooked, take it out of the oven and leave it to cool on a wire rack. For best results and consistency, before cutting it up place into the fridge for a further hour, this will ensure it has the best texture and not gloopy.

Let me know how yours came out and share a picture with us all.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page